Keith Gull to receive Biochemical Society Award

Keith Gull to receive Biochemical Society Award

Keith Gull, Professor of Molecular Biology at the Dunn School and Principal of St Edmund Hall, is to receive the 2017 Biochemical Society Award at the Society’s conference next year.

This prestigious award recognises Keith’s outstanding contribution to understanding the molecular components of the microtubule cytoskeleton and how it operates in flagellar motility, cell division, and morphogenesis of the African trypanosome. His work has led to the establishment of novel insights into the evolution of the cytoskeleton and its components.

The award also acknowledges Keith’s promotion of molecular bioscience beyond the lab. He organises courses for young scientists in sub-Saharan Africa, sits on numerous scientific research committees within the education sector and beyond, and is Principal at St Edmund Hall a college at the University of Oxford.

Professor Gull Said: "I am both surprised and delighted to receive the 2017 Biochemical Society Award. Awards from one’s peers make the biggest personal impact and mean the most. My thanks go to the many past and present members of my group whose talents have been central to our success over the years. It is an honour to join such a distinguished list of awardees."

Professor Anne Dell, Chair of the Awards Committee at the Biochemical Society, said: "For the 2017 award we were looking to recognise those who have not only achieved as stellar research scientists, but who have also undertaken activities that have had substantial impact in bioscience related areas outside the laboratory."

The Society's Council introduced the biennial award in 2001 with the intention of widening recognition of excellence to span more diverse fields of endeavour within, or related to, the biochemical sciences. The Council decides, every two years, upon the area or topic that they wish to recognise. Previous recipients include Nick Lane in 2015, for his impact in the field of molecular life sciences, and Tom Blundell in 2013 for his outstanding contribution to the development and management of UK molecular bioscience. 

Thursday, March 31, 2016 - 14