Dunn School celebrates victory at British Pharmacological Society awards

Dunn School celebrates victory at British Pharmacological Society awards

The Dunn School were winners at the prestigious British Pharmacological Society awards at a reception at the House of Commons last night.

The award, presented to Professors Susan Lea and Chris Tang by Andrew Miller MP, was in recognition of the School’s contribution to the discovery and development of medicines.

On winning the prize Chris Tang said: “In the 1940s, treatment with penicillin seemed nothing short of miraculous. The discovery banished the threat posed by many infectious diseases that were killers of the time. The dedicated work at the Dunn School by the team of Florey, Chain and Heatley ushered in the age of modern medicine, and paved the way for drug discovery since then. I am delighted that this remarkable achievement has been recognised with this prestigious award, and I am proud to accept it on behalf of the scientists and staff at the Dunn School.’’

The award was a result of the Society’s annual ‘Putting UK Pharmacology on the Map’ vote by members. The Dunn School was one of four winning institutions along with Marischal College, the University of Aberdeen, The Department of Pharmacology, the University of Edinburgh and the The Department of Molecular and Clinical Pharmacology, the University of Liverpool.

(Left to right): Chris Tang and Susan Lea from the Dunn School / Andrew Miller MP, Chair of the House of Commons’ Science and Technology Committee / Professor Humphrey Rang, BPS President and Jonathan Bruun, BPS Chief Executive

Tuesday, December 16, 2014 - 09